advicekrot.blogg.se

Windows vs mac os for editing
Windows vs mac os for editing







  1. #Windows vs mac os for editing full#
  2. #Windows vs mac os for editing mac#

UX? Again, hardware, which is consistently cheaper for Windows. Speed? That's hardware-dependent and doesn't vary much. Stability and security? Not since Win7 and definitely not since 10.

#Windows vs mac os for editing mac#

There's very little that Mac does better. Mac is also fine, but the cost:value isn't there unless you're a victim of brand vanity. When my company switched us to Win10 it was like a cool breeze blowing in. How hard is it to keep the taskbar icons for open windows on the correct monitor, or have the ability to bring multi-window apps to the foreground without multiple clicks? Much harder than I'd ever have guessed on Linux. I can't say how much time I've spent trying to get things working in Linux just so they weren't hindrances. I constantly hit snags that would've just worked in Windows or would've had easy, elegant solutions readily at hand. I say this after having worked on Linux (CentOS, Mint, Ubuntu 12+) for many years. Except for a few edge cases, there are no reasons why you'd need to be on Linux. Development is not done in isolation, and almost anything is easier in Windows than in Linux, from communication/collaboration to app window management to graphic design. It's been a few months now and I can say without any regret that I am happy again :) Like comment: Like comment: 3 likes Comment button Reply Collapse Expand So I bought an old Thinkpad, beefed it up with RAM and SSD and spent two whole weeks configuring everything to my liking, from the kernel up to the window manager. I have reached the point were the pros no longer compensate for all the cons. Hardware has more issues now and OSX is a cluttered environment with too many processes running for me to have a clue on what is going on.

windows vs mac os for editing

With time, the advantages started to fade.

#Windows vs mac os for editing full#

Buying a new computer or a new piece of hardware no longer required a full week of compiling kernels and customising the environment to my liking. I always felt OSX a bit weird and missed all the freedom I had before, but. Macs seemed to be similar enough to the power I was used to have on a Unix system, but not having any issues with hardware compatibility. I was a long time BSD and Linux user that changed to OSX when the first intel compatible version came around.









Windows vs mac os for editing